New cross-party group launched

The All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for EU Relations has launched, aiming to get the “the best and closest possible relationship with the EU” after Brexit.

The group will be co-chaired by Labour MP Chuka Umunna and Conservative MP Anna Soubry, and produce research on Brexit and organise visits between Brussels and the EU member state capitals to help “facilitate an exchange views between UK Parliamentarians and EU institutions”.

They will be joined by four Vice Chairs, Green Party MP Caroline Lucas, Liberal Democrat MP Jo Swinson, Plaid Cymru MP Jonathan Edwards, and Scottish National Party MP Stephen Gethins.